When working on an application with an extensive feature set, such as D-Tools Cloud, you need to assign user access based on their role in your business. This way, you don't have to expose everything happening in your business while protecting sensitive information.
Cloud has robust Access Control features in "Access Permissions" and "User Groups" to help you assign Role-Based access to users. Both of these features are available under "Settings > Account > Users & Permissions."
Access permissions
Access permissions let you restrict a user's access to specific parts of the D-Tools Cloud application. Cloud offers granular permissions to manage access to the catalog, opportunities, projects, services, and other functionality.
You can turn each permission ON or OFF at the user or user group level.
Click a user to view the permissions assigned to them. To see what the permission is for, hover over the permission's info icon.
If you want to search for a specific permission, type in the permission in the Search permissions box at the top.
For the "View opportunities" and "View projects" permissions, you can select "All," "Mine," or "None."
Selecting All will show all users' opportunities and projects.
Selecting Mine shows only the opportunities and projects to which users are assigned as resources.
As we add new functionality to Cloud, you will see new permissions being added. You can turn them ON or OFF in the relevant user group.
User groups
A user group is a specific set of access permissions saved for future use. Cloud comes with two built-in user groups: Administrator and User. The Administrator group has access to all parts of Cloud. The User group has access to all Project Management functionality but cannot access other parts of the Cloud.
Cloud also provides 4 sample user groups with preset permissions: Accounting (Sample User Group), Inventory (Sample User Group), Project Manager (Sample User Group), and Sales (Sample User Group).
You can also create custom user groups in Cloud by assigning tailored permissions that align with users' roles.
When you add a new user to Cloud, you can assign them to a built-in, sample, or custom group, and they inherit that group's permissions.
To see which user group the user belongs to, see the "Group" column.



